Brian Moseley, Plymouth
Webpage created: January 04, 2020
Webpage updated: June 18, 2020




C Lopes Radcliffe was Mayor of Plymouth for 1853-1854.

Sir Charles Horace Radford (1854-1916) was Mayor of Plymouth for 1896-1897 and 1907-1908.  He founded the Plymouth United Services Veterans' Association in circa 1911.  Sir Charles Horace Radford died suddenly at the Polurrian Hotel, Mullion, Cornwall, on February 19th 1916 and his body was cremated at Golder's Green Crematorium in London on February 24th 1916.

Mrs Elizabeth Radford was co-founder of the Plymouth drapery and house furnishing business of Messrs Popham, Radford and Company.

William Radford was Mayor of Plymouth for 1866-1867 and 1867-1868.

Captain Robert Rawlin (sometimes Rawling or Rawlyn), by his Will dated February 15th 1626, gave the following money and tenements to provide for the poor seafaring men and the poor tradesmen and young beginners of Plymouth, for the poor of surrounding parishes and for the benefit of the Hospital of the Orphans' Aid.  This was known as Captain Rawlin's Gift.

An anonymous lady or gentleman called Reed gave the interest on a capital sum to Plymouth Corporation in the 1820s.  This was known as Reed's Gift and later the Reed Educational Foundation.

Robert Rennell was the Cashier of the Plymouth Bank.

James Richardson was Mayor of Plymouth for 1750-1751 and 1759-1760.

Richard Risdon (1840-1901) was the founder of Messrs R Risdon and Sons and was Mayor of Plymouth for 1900-1901 but died in office on Tuesday July 16th 1901 and was succeeded by Mr Joseph Arthur Bellamy (1845-1918).

Miss Mary Rivers (1737-1833) was Plymouth's Post Mistress from 1794 until her death in 1833 at the age of 96 years.  SEE Postal Service in Old Plymouth to 1839.

Lancelot Robinson was Mayor of Plymouth for 1742-1743.

William Roche was removed from being the Mayor of Plymouth for 1710-1711 and replaced by Richard Opie.

Sir John Rodgers was Mayor of Plymouth for 1722-1723.

Edward William Rogers (1881-1936), a former Lieutenant-Commander in the Royal Navy and Deputy Lord Mayor, was chosen to replace James Elliot Pillar (1866-1935), the first Lord Mayor of Plymouth, when he died in office on July 12th 1935.  He served only until November 1935.  Unfortunately he died on Friday January 31st 1936 at the young age of 55 years.  The funeral was held at Saint Budeaux Parish Church on Wednesday February 5th 1936.

Dame Hannah Rogers, wife of Sir John Rogers, the third baronet, by her will dated September 8th 1764 gave to Mr James Walker, Mr William Brent, Mr Thomas Vivian, Mr Addis Archer and Mr Henry White, the sum of 10,000, on trust, to be invested and the interest to be used to provided and maintain a school for the education of poor, unfortunate children.  Admission to the School was to be restricted to children from the counties of Devon and Cornwall.  This was known as the Dame Hannah Rogers' Charity.

John Rogers was Mayor of Plymouth for 1728-1729 and 1743-1744.

Sir John Rogers replaced the deceased Richard Gortley as Mayor of Plymouth for 1741-1742.

Sir L F Rogers was Mayor of Plymouth for 1774-1775.

Albert Victor Rooke (1870-1931).

Alfred Rooker (1814-1875) was Mayor of Plymouth for 1851-1852  and 1873-1874.

S Roseman, of Plymouth, was a member of the syndicate that purchased the New Palace Theatre of Varieties in October 1945.

Joshua Brooking Rowe (1837-1908).

William Rowe, by his will dated April 16th 1690, gave to Mr William Symons, Mr Ephraim Muncke, and Mr John Henwood, and their heirs, a field or close of land called Shute Park, near the middle mill, along with the appurtenances and a barn, upon trust, yearly, within 10 days after December 25th.  They were to use the rents and profits to provided clothes for the poor of Plymouth.  This was known as William Rowe's Charity.

John Lansdowne Russell (1883-1971), a native of Middlesex, founded the Plymouth grocery business of Messrs J L Russell Stores Limited.

Leading Aircraftman William Sydney Rutledge, of Port Na Blagh, Lee-on-Solent, Hampshire, who was stationed at RAF Mount Batten, was one of the crew of the Blackburn Iris Flying Boat S238 that crashed in Plymouth Sound on Monday February 4th 1931.  His body was recovered and was buried on Monday February9th 1931 at the Plymouth, Stonehouse and Devonport Cemetery.

Flying Officer C Ryley, of Montraux, Switzerland, who was stationed at RAF Mount Batten, was a surviving member of the crew of the Blackburn Iris Flying Boat S238 that crashed in Plymouth Sound on Monday February 4th 1931.