Brian Moseley, Plymouth
Webpage created: October 15, 2021
Webpage updated: November 05, 2021




A public meeting was held in the schoolroom at Oreston on the evening of Tuesday June 13th 1871 to listen to the Unsectarian candidates for the places on the Plymstock School Board.  After addresses from Professor Anthony Mr Pike and Mr Smith, all from the Plymouth School Board, the three candidates, Mr A Pearse, Mr W Pearse and Mr Underhill, were allowed to address the meeting.  They were then cross-examined by various gentlemen and in the end all three candidates were unanimously adopted.  The list of candidates were thus: the Reverend T Coulthard; Mr T Bulteel; Mr P Hine; Mr W Pearse; Mr A Pearse; Mr G Underhill; Mr Elford; and Mr A R Wotton.

The election took place on Wednesday June 21st 1871, under the watchful eye of the returning officer, Mr F W P Cleverton, and the following were selected (by only eight votes each) to serve on the Plymstock School Board:

Mr T Bulteel, Church of England, of 2 Wingfield Villas, Stoke, Devonport;

The Reverend T Coulthard, Church of England, of The Parsonage, Plymstock;

Mr Philip Hine, Church of England, of Hooe;

Mr W B Pearse, Nonconformist, of Staddiscombe;

Mr W Underhill, Nonconformist, of Billacombe.

Mr J G Norman of 2 Sea View Terrace, Lipson Road, Plymouth, was the clerk of the board between 1878 and 1890.

The Plymstock School Board took over the Dean National School and the Plymstock National School but left the Saint John's National School at Hooe in the hands of the National Society for Promoting the Education of the Poor in the Principles of the Established Church.

They built and opened the Oreston Board School in 1873.