Brian Moseley, Plymouth
Webpage created: November 04, 2021
Webpage updated: November 04, 2021




On Monday October 29th 1956 a new Hooe County Infants' School was officially opened on behalf of the Devon County Local Education Authority by Lady Roborough, who planted a flowering crab-apple tree in commemoration.  It was to accommodate 120 children.  It was  As a result the old premises of the Hooe County Primary became the Hooe County Junior School.

The site of the new School cost 600; the buildings, which included three classrooms and an assembly hall, 22,872 and the furnishings, 2,100.  It was designed by the former Devon County Architect, Mr H V De Courcy Hague, and constructed by Messrs J Kerswill and Sons Limited.  Also present were the chairman of the governors, Mr G R Coleman; the chairman of Plympton Saint Mary Rural District Council, Mr C Hoare; and the chairman of the Devon County Education Committee, Mr B G Lampard-Vachell.

Miss Hales was appointed as the head mistress and she remained until her retirement 25 years later, in April 1982, when the Hooe Infants' School was re-merged with the Junior School to once again become the Hooe Primary School.