Brian Moseley, Plymouth
Webpage created: September 16, 2018
Webpage updated: September 17, 2018




Is it Egg Buckland or Eggbuckland?  In 1905 the then vicar of Saint Edward's Church, the Reverend A F Baker, pronounced that: 'It is more correct and best preserves the history of the name to write it now as one word - Eggbuckland.'

The ancient parish of Eggbuckland was in the County of Devon; the Roborough Hundred; the Midland Roborough Petty Sessional Division; the Plympton St Mary Union; the East Stonehouse County Court District; the rural deanery of Plympton; the archdeaconry of Totnes and the diocese of Exeter.

The following houses, farms and public houses/inns were within the Parish of Eggbuckland:  Austin Farm; Bloomballs Farm; Bowden Farm; Buckland Down/Buckland Wood Farm; Castle Farm Inn; Coleridge Farm; Colwell Farm; Common Wood Farm; Crabtree; Crabtree Inn; Cressbrook Farm; Deer Park Farm; Derriford Barton; Doidge's Farm; East Widey Farm; Efford Manor; Efford or Gullett's Mill; Estover Farm; Fancy Farm; Frogmore Farm; Fursdon House; Goosewell Farm; Higher Efford Farm; Higher Efford House; King's Arms Public House; Knackersnowle (part was in Saint Budeaux parish); Laira House; Laira Inn; Higher Leigham Farm; Leigham House; Lower Leigham Farm; Little Efford Farm; Longbridge; Lower Leigham; Mainstone Farm; Marsh House; New Inn; Pool Farm; Rising Sun Inn; Riverford Farm; Rock House (later Briarleigh); Shallaford; Smallack Farm; Stone Farm; Vicarage; Volunteer Inn; Widey Cottage; Widey Court; Widey Farm; Widey Mill.

At the time of the census taken on Sunday March 31st 1851, there were 1,468 people living in the Parish of Eggbuckland.  This was made up of 708 males and 760 females.  There were 273 inhabited properties in the Parish along with six uninhabited and one under construction.  The population of the Parish had grown by 172 people since 1841.

There were two post offices in the parish, one at Crownhill, of which Mr Thomas Coombe was the sub-postmaster, and one at Laira, of which Mrs Emily Haythorne was in charge.  The population of the parish was 1,833 in 1891.  The parish was said at that time to comprise 3,204 acres of land and 51 acres of water and foreshore.  In addition, Laira Green, which was formerly extra-parochial but by 1893 was a parish in itself for poor law purposes, comprised 129 acres of land, 101 acres of tidal water and foreshore and had a population of 481 in 1891.

The land was described as being loamy over a clay subsoil.  The chief crops were wheat, oats, barley and green crops.  Slate was quarried and copper ore was found within the Parish.

There were two manors within the Parish:

  • Efford, with Mr Henry Clark BA JP as Lord of the Manor in 1870 and 1893;

  • Eggbuckland, with Mr Christopher Tolcher as Lord of the Manor in 1870.

The Overseer of the Poor for Eggbuckland in 1857 was Mr Andrew Irving Stuttaford, who was also the Surveyor of Highways.  The Parish Clerk for Eggbuckland in 1857 was Mr George Cole.  The Parish Constable for Eggbuckland in 1857 was Mr George Dawe, a dairyman from Knackersknowle; and in 1870 was Mr William Jago.  The Surveyor of Highways for Eggbuckland in 1857 was Mr Andrew Irving Stuttaford, a builder, who was also Overseer of the Poor.

In 1778 the local landowner gave an endowment towards the running of the Eggbuckland Chantry or Charity School.  This later became the Eggbuckland National School, adjoining the Ancient Parish Church of Saint Edward.  Laira and Crabtree School existed in the south of the Parish.  In 1890 the Egg Buckland and Laira School Board (sic) was formed to build a new school for the area.

By the authority of the Local Government Act 1894, which received the Royal Assent on Monday March 5th 1894, Eggbuckland was created an administrative civil parish, with an elected Parish Council.

Under the Local Government Board Order P1257 dated Monday November 9th 1896, the southern part of the Parish was transferred to Plymouth Charles civil parish and thus in to the Borough of Plymouth.

The remaining northern part of the Parish was absorbed into the City of Plymouth on Friday March 31st 1939 in accordance with the Plymouth Extension Act 1938.  Eggbuckland Parish Council met for the last time on Thursday March 30th 1939.